Online training

Introduction to Cultural Competence Suite Separate Units (UNIT 1+2+3) (ICC19_SUITEV12)

The complete Introduction to Cultural Competence (ICC) Suite gives you knowledge and skills to work with people from any culture or language group. You’ll learn skills to reduce misunderstandings caused by culture or language and then practice these skills through simulated activities. The suite gives you a framework to understand Australian cultural diversity. It sets a clear, positive agenda for how you can create a workplace that’s great for refugees and migrants.

The ICC suite has 3 units that you can match to the skills you need to learn.

Unit 1: Key Knowledge (45 mins) Perfect if you need essential knowledge of cultural competence.

Unit 2: Practical Skills (45 mins) The perfect add-on to Unit 1 if you work in-depth with migrant and refugee clients.

Unit 3: Working with Interpreters (30 mins) An in-depth primer or refresher if you work with interpreters.

It will take you approximately 2 hours to complete the 3 units. Our training works on desktop, tablet or mobile phone, so you can complete it on your preferred device.

Learning Goals
After completing the ‘Introduction to Cultural Competence Suite’, you will gain:

Knowledge of:
- Australian cultural diversity and government policies about it
- Experiences migrants and refugees have before getting to Australia and how quickly they fit in
- Frameworks for how you can reduce service barriers for migrants and refugees

Skills to:
- Reduce unconscious bias
- Use plain language
- Check if someone understands you effectively
- Effectively work with interpreters and translations

You can get started immediately and complete the suite at your own pace. Your progress is saved at the end of each section.

Please use Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari browser to do this training. Microsoft Internet Explorer does not work well.
  • Unit 1 Key Knowledge
  • Unit 2 Practical Skills
  • Unit 3 Interpreters
Completion rules
  • All units must be completed
  • Leads to a certification with a duration: 2 years